Patching is a connection within the cable network (fibre optic or telephony) created using patches or at points. The connection is made either between the connector/pin and the technical port in a terminator, between two connectors/pins of different terminators in a switching point, or between two connectors/pins of one terminator.
This will open the connection editor. General information on working with the connection editor can be found here.
In the connection editor, the action “Connect” > “Connector to connector” or “Pin to pin” or “Connector to technical port” or “Pin to technical port” can now be used to create patches within a terminator.
If creating patches to a second terminator, the connection editor has to be started from the switching point, or the switching point has to be opened in the connection editor via the illustration selector .
Patching within a terminator
Patching via switching point
For all patches, it can be determined whether they are “permanent patches”. This option can be activated in the middle.
Patching on a technical port
On the left side, the connector that is to be patched to the technical port is selected. The patch length taken from the NET options can be changed. The patch can be specified as a starting patch. This is necessary if it is to serve as the start of a service path / network path. The patch can also be defined as a permanent patch.
Variable texts can be used to describe the technical port. By default, this is the text that is stored in the NET options, FO or telephony group, in the Connection Editor tab.
The patch to be rerouted must be filtered as the current record in the Patch form. A patch can be rerouted in the Edit menu of the detailed form for patches.
The connection editor with the action “Disconnect connectors” opens.
The connector from which the patch is to be removed must be selected. The patch is then deleted with “Create action” and “Run”. A new patch can the be created with the action “Connect” > Connector to connector”.
A patch can be canceled in the Edit menu of the detailed form for patches.
The following query appears:
The user has the option of canceling all patches in the filter with “Yes”, canceling only the current patch with “No”, or terminating the command with “Cancel”.
The patch will deleted immediately without further precautionary queries.
If a work order is active, the cancellation of the patch will be stored in the work order and can be activated there if necessary.
Canceling a network path via patching
An existing network path can be canceled starting from the patch in the “Edit” menu.
If no work order was selected previously, the query is made as to whether to proceed:
The service must be removed from the network path beforehand, otherwise the process will be aborted:
Subsequently, the patches belonging to the network path will be deleted or entered in the work order as to be deleted.